Employer: Office of The Chief Justice
Location: South Africa
Closing Date: 28 September 2026
Graduate Internship Programme at Office of the Chief Justice (South Africa)
The Office of the Chief Justice (OCJ) is now accepting applications for its 24-month Graduate Internship Programme for the 2025/2027 financial year. Every successful applicant will earn a fixed stipend of R8 174.75 per month.
This intake offers placements across multiple divisions including Finance, Asset Management, HR, Risk Management, Court Administration, Legal Services, and Strategy. Candidates must submit their complete application package before the strict deadline on 28 September 2026.
If you are an unemployed South African graduate looking for practical exposure within the judiciary system, this guide covers the exact requirements, reference numbers, contact details, and step-by-step submission instructions.
Company Overview
The Office of the Chief Justice (OCJ) is a government department in South Africa structured to support the Chief Justice in executing administrative and judicial functions. As an equal opportunity employer, the OCJ aligns its recruitment with the Employment Equity Plan of the Department, explicitly prioritizing qualified persons with disabilities.
Job Overview
- Job Title: Graduate Intern (Multiple Tracks/Posts)
- Employer: Office of the Chief Justice (OCJ), South Africa
- Programme Duration: 24 Months (01 April 2027 to 31 March 2029)
- Location: National Office (Midrand), Constitutional Court (Braamfontein), Provincial Service Centres, High Court Divisions, and Labour/Labour Appeals Courts across South Africa
- Employment Type: Internship Contract (Full-time)
- Closing Date: 28 September 2026
- Stipend: R8 174.75 per month
Job Purpose / Role Summary
The Graduate Internship Programme aims to provide unemployed South African graduates with dynamic, practical work exposure in administrative, legal, financial, and strategic operations within the judicial sector. Interns are placed in specialized departments to enhance their suitability for future employment across public and private sectors.
Key Responsibilities
- Not specified by employer. (The official advertisement outlines qualifications, locations, and track assignments, but does not publish individual day-to-day duty listings per post).
Minimum Requirements
To qualify for any post under this programme, candidates must meet the general criteria as well as specific educational benchmarks:
General Eligibility Criteria
- Must be a South African citizen.
- Must be an unemployed graduate.
- Must not have previously participated in an internship programme.
- Grade 12 Certificate is required across all positions.
Qualification Breakdown by Specific Post
| Post Reference | Track / Role Title | Location / Centre | Qualification Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/F01/OCJ | Finance (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma (NQF Level 6 with 360 credits) in Financial Accounting / Management Accounting / Accounting. |
| 2026/AMO2/OCJ | Asset Management (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma (NQF Level 6 with 360 credits) in Financial Accounting / Cost and Management Accounting / Accounting. |
| 2026/HRUD03/OCJ | HR Management & Development (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma in HR Management / Development / Industrial Psychology (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/EHW04/OCJ | HR: Employee Health & Wellness (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma in Industrial Psychology / Social Science / Psychology (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/RM05/OCJ | Risk Management (1 Post) | National Office | Three-year National Diploma in Risk Management (NQF Level 6 with 360 credits). |
| 2026/RM06/OCJ | Risk Management (1 Post) | National Office | Three-year National Diploma in Public Management (NQF Level 6 with 360 credits). |
| 2026/SSD07/OCJ | Strategy & Service Delivery: Midrand, Strategy & Planning (1 Post) | National Office | Three-year National Diploma in Public Administration / Developmental Studies / Social Science (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/SSD08/OCJ | Strategy & Service Delivery: Strategy & Planning (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma in Public Administration / Office Management / Business Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/ISS09/OCJ | Institutional Secretariat Services (1 Post) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma in Public Administration / Office Management / Business Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/CA10/OCJ | Court Administration (2 Posts) | National Office: Midrand | Three-year National Diploma / Degree in Public Management / Office Management (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/WCPSC11/OCJ | Western Cape (1 Post) | Western Cape Provincial Service Centre: Cape Town | Three-year National Diploma / Degree in Human Resource Management (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/WCPSC12/OCJ | Western Cape (1 Post) | Western Cape Provincial Service Centre | Three-year National Diploma in Public Administration / Office Management / Business Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/CC13/OCJ | Constitutional Court (1 Post) | Constitutional Court: Braamfontein | National Diploma in Public Administration / Office Management / Business Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/CC14/OCJ | Constitutional Court (1 Post) | Constitutional Court: Braamfontein | LLB Degree (NQF Level 8, 480 credits). |
| 2026/CC15/OCJ | Constitutional Court (2 Posts) | Constitutional Court: Braamfontein | Three-year National Diploma / Degree in Human Resource Management (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/CAS16/OCJ | Court Administration Services: Legal (1 Post) | High Court: Pretoria | LLB Degree (NQF Level 8, 480 credits). |
| 2026/CAS17/OCJ | Court Administration Services: Legal (1 Post) | High Court: Johannesburg | LLB Degree (NQF Level 8, 480 credits). |
| 2026/CAS18/OCJ | Court Administration Services: Legal (1 Post) | Labour and Labour Appeals Court: Johannesburg | LLB Degree (NQF Level 8, 480 credits). |
| 2026/GPSC19/OCJ | Gauteng Provincial Service Centre (1 Post) | Gauteng Provincial Service Centre | Three-year National Diploma in Public Administration / Office Management / Business Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/FS20/OCJ | Free State (1 Post) | High Court: Free State | Three-year National Diploma / Degree in Public Management / Public Administration (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/FS21/OCJ | Free State (1 Post) | High Court: Free State | Three-year National Diploma in HR Management / Industrial Psychology (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/MPSC22/OCJ | Mpumalanga (1 Post) | Mpumalanga Provincial Service Centre | Three-year National Diploma / Degree in Public Management / Office Management / Public Management and Governance (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/MPSCM23/OCJ | Mpumalanga (2 Posts) | Mpumalanga Provincial Service Centre | Three-year National Diploma in HR / Industrial Psychology (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/MPSCM24/OCJ | Mpumalanga (1 Post) | High Court: Middelburg | Three-year National Diploma in Public Management / Office Management (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/NCPSC25/OCJ | Northern Cape (1 Post) | Northern Cape Provincial Service Centre | Three-year National Diploma in HR Management / Industrial Psychology (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
| 2026/NCDHC26/OCJ | Northern Cape (1 Post) | High Court: Northern Cape | Three-year National Diploma in Public Management / Office Management (NQF Level 6, 360 credits). |
Preferred Skills / Nice-to-Haves
- Not specified by employer. (All requirements listed in the official notice are mandatory minimum educational qualifications recognized by SAQA).
Salary & Benefits
The Office of the Chief Justice stipend for this 24-month intake is fixed at R8 174.75 per month across all listed post tracks.
Please note that candidates applying outside their home area must cover their own accommodation and transportation expenses, taking into consideration the monthly allowance. No additional medical aid, housing subsidy, or relocation benefits are disclosed in the source advertisement.
Location & Work Arrangement
This is an in-person graduate internship. Placements are distributed across the following national and provincial offices:
- Gauteng: Midrand (National Office), Braamfontein (Constitutional Court), Pretoria High Court, Johannesburg High Court, Labour and Labour Appeals Court.
- Western Cape: Cape Town Provincial Service Centre.
- Free State: High Court Division.
- Mpumalanga: Provincial Service Centre and Middelburg High Court.
- Northern Cape: Provincial Service Centre and High Court Division.
Remote and hybrid work arrangements are not specified by employer.
Application Process
To complete your application for the OCJ Graduate Internship Programme, follow these numbered steps carefully:
- Obtain the Application Form: Download or collect the new Z83 application form. This is available from any Public Service Department or via
www.dpsa.gov.za-vacancies/www.judiciary.org.za. Note that old Z83 forms will result in immediate disqualification. - Complete and Sign Form Z83: Fill out all sections of the Z83 form accurately and append your physical or valid signature.
- Quote the Reference Number: You must quote the exact post reference number (e.g.,
2026/F01/OCJ) on your application form. A separate application form must be completed for every unique reference number if applying to multiple posts. - Attach Required Documents: Compile your updated CV, certified copies of your Matric certificate, identity document, academic transcripts, and tertiary qualifications.
- Submit via Email: Direct your application package to the specific email address designated for your post reference number.
Post-Specific Application Email Addresses:
- 2026/F01/OCJ:
2026/F01/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/AMO2/OCJ:
2026/AMO2/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/HRUD03/OCJ:
2026/HRUD03/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/EHW04/OCJ:
2026/EHW04/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/RM05/OCJ:
2026/RM05/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/RM06/OCJ:
2026/RM06/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/SSD07/OCJ:
2026/SSD07/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/SSD08/OCJ:
2026/SSD08/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/ISS09/OCJ:
2026/ISS09/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CA10/OCJ:
2026/CA10/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/WCPSC11/OCJ:
2026/WCPSC11/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/WCPSC12/OCJ:
2026/WCPSC12/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CC13/OCJ:
2026/CC13/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CC14/OCJ:
2026/CC14/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CC15/OCJ:
2026/CC15/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CAS16/OCJ:
2026/CAS16/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CAS17/OCJ:
2026/CAS17/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/CAS18/OCJ:
2026/CAS18/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/GPSC19/OCJ:
2026/GPSC19/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/FS20/OCJ:
2026/FS20/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/FS21/OCJ:
2026/FS21/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/MPSC22/OCJ:
2026/MPSC22/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/MPSCM23/OCJ:
2026/MPSCM23/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/MPSCM24/OCJ:
2026/MPSCM24/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/NCPSC25/OCJ:
2026/NCPSC25/OCJ@judiciary.org.za - 2026/NCDHC26/OCJ:
2026/NCDHC26/OCJ@judiciary.org.za
Required Documents
Candidates must submit the following documents with their application:
- Fully completed and signed new Z83 Application Form.
- Recently updated Curriculum Vitae (CV).
- Certified copy of Grade 12 Certificate.
- Certified copy of Identity Document (ID).
- Certified copies of Tertiary Qualifications.
- Certified copy of Academic Transcripts showing status and credits (with 360/480 credits as recognised by SAQA).
- Foreign qualification evaluation certificates from SAQA (where foreign qualifications are held).
Important Notes / Deadlines
Application Deadline: 28 September 2026
Key instructions to observe before submitting:
- Applications submitted on the old Z83 form will be automatically rejected.
- Failure to attach required certified supporting documents will disqualify your submission.
- Shortlisted candidates will undergo verification, pre-screening, and a pre-entry practical exercise/assessment.
- Correspondence will be limited exclusively to shortlisted candidates.
- The OCJ reserves the right not to make appointments.
For official telephone enquiries regarding specific posts:
- HR Related Enquiries: Mr. JM Kgosiemang Tel: (010) 493 2538 / 2689
- Finance (2026/F01/OCJ): Mr. H Lekwane Tel: (010) 493 2590
- Asset Management (2026/AMO2/OCJ): Mr. M Molobi / Mr. P Mahumane Tel: (010) 493 2646
- Risk Management (2026/RM05 & 06/OCJ): Ms. V Sevule Tel: (010) 493 2501
- Strategy & Planning (2026/SSD07 & 08/OCJ): Ms. P Mahlangu Tel: (010) 493 2501
- Constitutional Court (2026/CC13, 14 & 15/OCJ): Ms. K Mokgatlhe Tel: (011) 359 7400 / 7583
- Western Cape (2026/WCPSC11 & 12/OCJ): Mr. S Hlongwane Tel: (021) 469 4029
- Gauteng / Legal (2026/CAS16-18 & GPSC19/OCJ): Ms. T Mbalekwa Tel: (010) 494 8541
- Free State (2026/FS20 & 21/OCJ): Ms. D Peters Tel: (051) 492 4585
- Mpumalanga (2026/MPSC22, MPSCM23 & MPSCM24/OCJ): Mr. S Zwane Tel: (013) 758 0000
- Northern Cape (2026/NCPSC25 & NCDHC26/OCJ): Ms. L Wymers Tel: (053) 492 3533
FAQs
What is the monthly stipend for the Office of the Chief Justice internship? The fixed monthly stipend across all tracks is R8 174.75.
Can I apply if I previously completed a government internship? No, applicants must not have participated in an internship programme previously.
What is the application deadline for the OCJ careers 2026 intake? All applications must be received on or before 28 September 2026.
Are remote or work-from-home options available for these internships? Work arrangements are strictly in-person at the designated national and provincial centres.
Can foreign qualification holders apply? Yes, provided your qualifications have been evaluated and certified by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).
How do I apply for multiple post reference numbers? You must complete and sign a separate Z83 form and submit dedicated application packages to the specific email address assigned to each post.
14. Conclusion + CTA
Understanding how to apply for Graduate Internship Programme opportunities at the Office of the Chief Justice in South Africa during 2026 ensures you submit a fully compliant application before the 28 September deadline. Verify your qualification requirements, complete the new Z83 form, and submit your documentation directly to the assigned email address.
September 16, 2026
8:20 am
